Click map for more information:
Our mission is to provide a world-class transportation experience that delights our customers and promotes a prosperous Missouri.
There are many federal and state laws governing outdoor advertising in Missouri. All outdoor advertising within 660 feet of the right of way and visible from the National Highway System, including interstate and federal aid primary highways as of 6/1/91, must have a permit from the Missouri Department of Transportation.
On-premise signs are not required to be permitted or to meet permit requirements
No person shall operate, establish. or maintain a junkyard, any portion of which is within 1000 feet of the nearest edge of the highway right of way of any interstate or primary highway, without obtaining a license from the state highway and transportation commission of Missouri (MHTC). MoDOT shall have the authority to issue a license for establishing, operation, and maintenance of junkyards and shall charge an annual fee of $10.00 payable in advance. (See RSMO 226.670)
For more information about outdoor advertising and junkyards, please contact Aaron Distler at 573-751-7187 or by e-mail.