| |
Missouri Department of Transportation

Social Media Facebook Twitter Flickr Blog YouTube RSS

MoDOT News Release 

For more information, contact Revee White at 573-751-5414; or Melissa Black/Sandra Hentges at 573-526-4141.

March 05, 2010 12:00 AM
Statewide Impaired Driving Crackdown Planned March 12-14
You Drink & Drive. You Lose.

JEFFERSON CITY - The luck of the Irish will not be with you this St. Patrick's Day weekend if you drink and drive. Law enforcement officers across Missouri will be cracking down on drunk driving with increased enforcement March 12-14, the weekend leading up to St. Patrick's Day.

Keep the streets safe by drinking responsibly and designating a driver who has not been drinking before heading to the local parade or pub.

"St. Patrick's Day is a time to celebrate the Irish heritage and gather with friends, but it can quickly end in tragedy due to impaired driving," said Leanna Depue, chair of the Missouri Coalition for Roadway Safety's executive committee. "If you plan on drinking, don't rely on luck to keep you safe.  Plan a safe ride home before the festivities begin."

Consider the consequences of impaired driving:

•If you cause a fatal crash while intoxicated, you can be charged with involuntary manslaughter, a felony resulting in up to seven years of jail time, a $5,000 fine or both.

•Your license can be suspended for 90 days on your first conviction. You could be fined up to $500 and spend up to 6 months in jail.

•A second conviction results in a yearlong revocation of your license. You could be fined up to $1,000 and spend up to one year in jail.

•Any person guilty of a second or subsequent intoxication-related traffic offense will be required to install an ignition interlock device on their car before reinstating driving privileges.

•Insurance coverage will be difficult to find and your rates will be significantly higher.

In 2009, 268 people were killed and 1,134 seriously injured in crashes involving an impaired driver.

To learn more, please visit http://www.savemolives.com/.

About Us
How Do I...
Contact Us
Missouri Department of Transportation
Central Office
105 W. Capitol Avenue
Jefferson City, MO 65102
1-888-ASK-MODOT (275-6636)
1-866-831-6277 (Motor Carrier Services)
Drivers License Offices
horz_bar
| | |
Missouri State Government
© 2013 Missouri Department of Transportation. All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy.
 
 
 
 
RSS FeedYoutubeBlogFlickrTwitter Facebook